Playing Dead

Playing Dead

  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Author : Julia Heaberlin
  • ISBN-10 : 9780345527011
  • Release : 2012
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Download/Read : 344
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

After she gets a letter from a woman claiming to be her mother and that she was kidnapped 31 years earlier, Tommie McCloud must sort our a past of secrets, find out whether she really did have a violent mobster as a father and protect herself from the danger she was whisked away from three decades earlier. A first novel. Original.

Playing Dead

Playing Dead

  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Author : Elizabeth Greenwood
  • ISBN-10 : 9781476739342
  • Release : 2017-08-15
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Download/Read : 272
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

Is it still possible to fake your own death in the twenty-first century? With six figures of student loan debt, Elizabeth Greenwood was tempted to find out. So off she sets on a darkly comic foray into the world of death fraud, where for $30,000 a consultant can make you disappear--but your suspicious insurance company might hire a private detective to dig up your coffin...only to find it filled with rocks. Greenwood tracks down a British man who staged a kayaking accident and then returned to live in his own house while all his neighbors thought he was dead. She takes a call from Michael Jackson (no, he's not dead--or so her new acquaintances would have her believe), stalks message boards for people contemplating pseudocide, and gathers intel on black market morgues in the Philippines, where she may or may not obtain some fraudulent goodies of her own. Along the way, she learns that love is a much less common motive than money, and that making your death look like a drowning virtually guarantees that you'll be caught. (Disappearing while hiking, however, is a way great to go.) Playing Dead is a charmingly bizarre investigation in the vein of Jon Ronson and Mary Roach into our all-too-human desire to escape from the lives we lead, and the men and women desperate enough to give up their lives--and their families--to start again. "Delivers all the lo-fi spy shenanigans and caught-red-handed schadenfreude you're hoping for." --NPR "A lively romp." --The Boston Globe "Grim fun." --The New York Times "Brilliant topic, absorbing book." --The Seattle Times "The most literally escapist summer read you could hope for." --The Paris Review

Playing Dead

Playing Dead

  • Publisher : Random House Digital, Inc.
  • Author : Allison Brennan
  • ISBN-10 : 9780345502735
  • Release : 2008
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Download/Read : 472
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

Escaping from prison after fifteen years behind bars for crimes he did not commit, condemned fugitive Tom O'Brien is determined to prove his innocence and enlists the help of his daughter Claire, a successful fraud investigator whose testimony as a teenager had sent her father to death row, and maverick FBI agent Mitch Bianchi to uncover a conspiracy. Original.

Blade

Blade

  • Publisher : Philomel
  • Author : Tim Bowler
  • ISBN-10 : 0399251863
  • Release : 2009
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Download/Read : 231
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

A fourteen-year-old British street person with extraordinary powers of observation and self-control must face murderous thugs connected with a past he has tried to forget, when his skills with a knife earned him the nickname, Blade.

Death  Culture   Leisure

Death Culture Leisure

  • Publisher : Emerald Group Publishing
  • Author : Matt Coward-Gibbs
  • ISBN-10 : 9781839090370
  • Release : 2020-08-20
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Download/Read : 232
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

Death, Culture and Leisure: Playing Dead is an inter- and multi-disciplinary volume that engages with the diverse nexuses that exist between death, culture and leisure. At its heart, it is a playful exploration of the way in which we play with both death and the dead.

Playing Dead

Playing Dead

  • Publisher : Newest Press
  • Author : Rudy Wiebe
  • ISBN-10 : STANFORD:36105113656313
  • Release : 2003
  • Genre: Nature
  • Download/Read : 149
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

A collection of essays about the Canadian Arctic, both land and people, by a Canadian writer enamoured of the North.

Playing Dead

Playing Dead

  • Publisher : Wildblue Press
  • Author : Monique Faison Ross
  • ISBN-10 : 1948239337
  • Release : 2019-07-30
  • Genre: True Crime
  • Download/Read : 268
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

Monique, the daughter of San Diego Charger's football great Earl Faison, married her high school sweetheart soon after she discovered she was pregnant with his child. Her relationship with Chris was shaky from the start, but turned tumultuous as he became verbally and physically abusive. When she could no longer put up with the abuse, she left him with their children. That was when the stalking and genuine threats began. Nothing stopped him--not protection injunctions, police warnings, or even arrests. One fateful Monday morning, Chris kidnapped Monique in front of her children and drove off on a nightmarish car ride that involved car crashes and rape. He mercilessly beat her on the head with a shovel and abandoned her brutalized body in the woods in the rain. He left, presuming she was dead...but was she?

Playing Dead

Playing Dead

  • Publisher : University Press of Colorado
  • Author : Montana Miller
  • ISBN-10 : 9781492000464
  • Release : 2012-12-15
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Download/Read : 161
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

As the Grim Reaper pulls a student out of class to be a “victim” of drunk driving in a program called “Every 15 Minutes,” Montana Miller observes the ritual through a folklorist’s lens. Playing Dead examines why hundreds of American schools and communities each year organize these mock tragedies without any national sponsorship or coordination. Often, the event is complete with a staged accident in the parking lot, a life-flight helicopter, and faux eulogies for the “dead” students read in school assemblies. Grounding her research in play theory, frame theory, and theory of folk drama, Miller investigates key aspects of this emergent tradition, paying particular attention to its unplanned elements—enabled by the performance’s spontaneous nature and the participants’ tendency to stray from the intended frame. Miller examines such variations in terms of the program as a whole, analyzing its continued popularity and weighing its success as perceived by participants. Her fieldwork reveals a surprising aspect of Every 15 Minutes that typical studies of ritual do not include: It can be fun. Playing Dead is volume two of the series Ritual, Festival, and Celebration, edited by Jack Santino.

Playing Dead

Playing Dead

  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Author : Elizabeth Greenwood
  • ISBN-10 : 9781476739342
  • Release : 2017-08-15
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Download/Read : 272
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

Is it still possible to fake your own death in the twenty-first century? With six figures of student loan debt, Elizabeth Greenwood was tempted to find out. So off she sets on a darkly comic foray into the world of death fraud, where for $30,000 a consultant can make you disappear--but your suspicious insurance company might hire a private detective to dig up your coffin...only to find it filled with rocks. Greenwood tracks down a British man who staged a kayaking accident and then returned to live in his own house while all his neighbors thought he was dead. She takes a call from Michael Jackson (no, he's not dead--or so her new acquaintances would have her believe), stalks message boards for people contemplating pseudocide, and gathers intel on black market morgues in the Philippines, where she may or may not obtain some fraudulent goodies of her own. Along the way, she learns that love is a much less common motive than money, and that making your death look like a drowning virtually guarantees that you'll be caught. (Disappearing while hiking, however, is a way great to go.) Playing Dead is a charmingly bizarre investigation in the vein of Jon Ronson and Mary Roach into our all-too-human desire to escape from the lives we lead, and the men and women desperate enough to give up their lives--and their families--to start again. "Delivers all the lo-fi spy shenanigans and caught-red-handed schadenfreude you're hoping for." --NPR "A lively romp." --The Boston Globe "Grim fun." --The New York Times "Brilliant topic, absorbing book." --The Seattle Times "The most literally escapist summer read you could hope for." --The Paris Review

Cherringham   Playing Dead

Cherringham Playing Dead

  • Publisher : BASTEI LÜBBE
  • Author : Matthew Costello
  • ISBN-10 : 9783838748412
  • Release : 2014-07-31
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Download/Read : 161
  • Price : FREE
E-book Explanation:

When Cherringham Drama Society invite a local TV celebrity to direct their Christmas show, they get more publicity than they bargained for. Someone's out to sabotage the event, and rehearsals spin into chaos. Jack and Sarah are asked to investigate and soon discover that there's a darker mystery taking place behind the scenes ... Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the 12 self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90’s, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. Now into its second season of 12 novellas, Cherringham is popular around the world and has been adapted as a series of audiobooks in English and German.